RSS Feed

Dinner for …? :: PCS Gems

It was the summer of 2009 when Hubs and I pranced around Bed, Bath & Beyond equipped with the magical scan gun that placed every item we wanted onto our wedding registry! I wish I could link it to you without giving away my personal information, but alas, I can’t. Take my word for it though, it’s a doozy! Apparently I thought we were the Gatsby’s and would be hosting these lavish parties with tons of people. It’s awkward since we’ve been without our HHGs for so long, and married going on two years, to just be getting all of our wedding gifts! We obviously have not been hosting lavish parties and won’t be for the next year. It’s hard to remind myself that one day we just might have to have ten people over for dinner and I will be more than pleased with our 12 place settings of our autumn dishes. Yes, our autumn dishes.

12 dinner plates and 12 salad plates. We only got 4 bowls.

We went a little crazy in the fall of 2009 when we were hosting Thanksgiving in our tiny apartment before we moved away. We got some gorgeous plates at Target… and we liked them so much we went and got 12 dinner plates and 12 salad plates just knowing one day we would have a house full of people for Thanksgiving! I am slightly regretting this decision as I try to find cabinet space for them all! Not only do we have these, but we have our “everyday” plates (which we scaled down and only have a set of 6:: dinner plates and salad plates and only three bowls. I guess I need to finish the set.), we have our Christmas dishes (set of 8:: dinner plates, salad plates, soup bowls, and mugs) we have our budding china set (set of 6 from the 12 we registered for:: dinner plates, salad plates, bowls. We also have 4 pasta bowls from the 12 we registered for and a few serving bowls. Finishing our China set is on my deployment shopping list!) we have “summer” plates (set of 6 smaller salad plates we use for everyday dining on the patio in the summer as well as several various sized platters for the grill).

I think it’s safe to say we know a certain gal who enjoys mixing up her table settings. Am I the only one? I also have Christmas china back at Nan’s house! Where in the world did I think we would be storing all of these place settings? Oh, and don’t get me started on the glasses! That’s a whole new post of its own!

How do you protect your precious dinnerware collection in moves? I wrapped every plate in bubble wrap myself and placed in small boxes and our china was still in the boxes from the store. The next time we move, nothing will be in their boxes! Do you buy those containers to keep your dinnerware in, trust the packers, or do it yourself?

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

2 responses »

  1. The movers did a great job wrapping all our plates. I don’t remember exactly how they did it, but I think it involved a lot of cardboard dividers. I really didn’t have anything to do it, but nothing was scratched or broken! (Thank you, PCS gods!) Also, our china is still in the boxes they came in since we also have nowhere to put it other than on the top of the cabinets! (We also only have 6 out of the 10 or 12 sets we registered for, but my MIL seems keen on helping us finish it off slowly each Christmas.) I eventually want a china cabinet, but we’ve decided to wait on that until we’re settled somewhere for a long while–which could be next year.

    Reply
  2. my mom still lhas those fancy china cases that she keeps it all in! I haven’t moved with it all out of the boxes yet either, I don’t know what I’ll do! We also went a little crazy, and ended up with 11 place settings of bone china formal dishes when in fact we did not have a dinner table for the first 18 months 😉

    Reply

Add your two cents:

