RSS Feed

My Baby Bosco

The past few days have been really difficult with my Baby Bosco. I love him more than I ever thought I could love a dog. We even got three little stockings for our three little pups. Recently, he has become something of an abusive boyfriend and we have nick named him Emily Rose! He goes psycho on you or will attack me, but then comes sulking back and gives me kisses, acting affectionately apologetic.

His aggression is out of hand and his possessiveness of me has driven us to the point where we are beginning the re-homing process. I don’t even know where to start. I just know I need to do it before deployment and while Hubs and I can go through it together.

He has not been himself lately.

Right before we left to go back to VA he scratched me pretty badly across my face and recently he has been picking fights with Jonesie for no reason. He growls at Hubs when he goes to kiss me or hand me a drink, and he has gotten really aggressive mixed with possesiveness. I know I don’t want to take him to a shelter because I know we have gone there looking for dogs and it just isn’t where I want my baby to be.

I’ve never had to get rid of a dog and it hurts me more than I thought I could hurt. He is so much more than just a dog to me. He really is my little baby and I feel so guilty that we weren’t the right fit, or that we aren’t a good enough fit for him anymore.

I have been praying about it and I really think he deserves a better home. Possible with no other pets and definitely no children. I know I can’t let it get to the point where I have to out him down. My heart would shatter more than it is right now! Maybe we can put up a flier at Dogtopia and they can help find my boy a new home!

Please pray for our family at this point in time. He and I most definitely need it!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

6 responses »

  1. Aw, I’m sorry it came to that! I hope it works out for the best for you guys.

    Reply
  2. I would first take him to the vet. A lot of times Dogs as well as other animals act out when they’re sick.

    Reply
  3. That is so sad!!! I’m so sorry!!! Is there a chance that a dog behaviorist could help?? I hope that you find him a really great home!!

    Reply
  4. I would love to talk with you about this. We went through something similar with Dixie, and we realized that it was due to too much “new stimulation” (foster dogs, getting pregnant, me going back to work, etc). Once we quit fostering dogs and I decided to stay home, she did a total 180. I feel your pain. Dixie was biting my husband, drawing blood, bullying the other dogs, and being very protective of me. However, she is completely different now that I’ve given her a routine and stick to it. Boscoe is probably overwhelmed with the new dog, the fact that you just got all your HHGs, etc. Take him to a behaviorist or just really give him extra love and attention and let him know you’re not going anywhere. He is just having so much anxiety, but it can get better. I promise! Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you need to vent or need new strategies. They’re like children and need patience…even when you feel like you don’t have any left. Hugs!

    Reply
  5. I’m sorry to hear what you are going through. My suggestion would be to look into rescue organizations. Is he pure bred? If so there should definitely be a rescue organization out there for him. If he is not, there are other rescue organizations that deal with all types of breeds. I volunteer for a rescue organization, but its not for that type of dog and we only deal with pure breds of the dogs we deal with. Rescue is definitely a great option as most of them will screen thoroughly (i know we do) and make sure to find a good fit for the dog. You may even have the option to “foster” the dog until a home can be found and you may even be able to help with the selection of the new home. Rescue’s are defintiely great options especially over shelters (some shelters euthanize, fyi). Let me know if you have any questions!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

