RSS Feed

Weigh-In Season In Our House

If you are a military family you know all about weigh-in season. If you are not, allow me to explain. Twice a year (for the Navy, is it different in other branches?) active duty personnel have to complete their PT test and pass a weigh-in. There are height weight requirements set in place to keep members fit and healthy (and looking damn fine in uniform).

Every six months my house gets turned upside down at weigh-in season and I may as well be living with a high school wrestler. You’ve seen pictures of Hubs, he’s no fatty in the eyes of popular society but he is built mighty awkward. He is short and kind of stocky. He would pass every time if he were about an inch or two taller with absolutely no problems. He is not an inch or two taller and as a result he has been eating a banana for breakfast, and apple and banana for lunch and salad for dinner.

One year when we were first dating he was given 2 days to lose about ten pounds and weigh-in again. He lost about 12 pounds in those two days by drastic measures similar to those of high school wrestlers and worse, some of which were endorsed by his command and shipmates at the time. I feel it is inappropriate to write about these methods but it involved saran wrap, gel, a homemade sauna and little to no nutritional intake as well as a few other drastic measures.

Hubs passed his weigh-ins this week and a weight was lifted off my shoulders! I could now commence my regular cooking schedule and he could resume eating like a normal person. I won’t buy $14 dollars worth of beef only to have it go bad since we never got around to making that stew, since we were too busy eating salads or chicken!

He will never change: about a month to two before weigh-ins he hits his PT schedule hard (for him) and tightens the purse strings on his diet. He is a snacker… more a “grazer” in the snack aisle… and I have not seen him snack in I could not tell you how long. I guarantee tomorrow he’ll be back to it.

He does pretty good and keeps himself in check… I just wish we could stretch those legs an inch for him! How do I motivate him all year long instead standing by and watching the torment during the season? Deployment goal #1 set: join a gym. If I’m paying for it, I’ll use it and maybe he’ll join in when he gets back!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

4 responses »

  1. Crisis In Process

    Oh how I know what your going through! My DH is the same way, I just wish he was a few inches taller and had a smaller neck! Can you believe the standards they have, geesh! He’s deployed now and just had a weigh-in coming in at 1% over his body fat, ughh! He has since turned himself upside down and has been cutting out the bad foods and working out too much and sleeping too little. Ugh, the life of a military man! Now, I just have to lose my last 20 before he gets home since the last deployment I lost 55 while he was gone! I hate weight, I hate it! I don’t think it should matter what your weight is if your doing your job and you do it well!

    Reply
  2. This made me giggle because it’s the exact same situation in our house!!!! Glad you can eat normally again šŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. I know EXACTLY how you feel and what you are going through. The Air Force had recently restructured the PT test and my husband not being fat, but was a larger guy [worked out, etc] had no choice but to loose weight. I’m proud to say that he came down from a 40 to a 34. On one of his tapes he actually measured a 33. I remember the feeling of when he failed two of his PT tests, talk about stress. I don’t think I’ve ever been so stressed in my life. I definitely hate weight as well, even though he is coming in at a 33/34 – he still weighs a little more than 200 lbs. But what’s important is he passed his last test. Now to keep everything up that we’ve been doing so he passed in the next 6 months he has to test.

    Reply
  4. Oh my gosh, hilarious! I had forgotten about the saran wrap and “gel”. So funny! It’s every six months in the Army, too. End of Oct/first of Nov and April/May. Just in time for my husband to not get to eat any Halloween or Easter candy. My husband is tall (6’3”) and isn’t heavy by any measure, but he’s a man and not a teenage boy so he always cuts it close on his height/weight requirement. They really need to revise the requirements.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

