RSS Feed

Deployment Goal Uno:: COOKIES!

I don’t know if I have ever shared this tid bit of information with you, but my husband is a Cookie Monster! Well, sweets in general. We laughed so hard this week watching “New Girl” when Jess (Zooey Deschanel) and Schmidt (Max Greenfiel) were talking to Nick (Jake M. Johnson) about his date and Schmidt said to just suck in his gut. Nick asked what gut and Jess said:

“The little pooch where you keep your extra cookies!”

That is my Hubs! Yeah, he has a little pooch and it is all cookies… cookies and brownies and sweets. (Hence weigh-in issues every six months!)

The first goal I am firmly setting for this deployment is: LEARNING TO MAKE AWESOME COOKIES! I plan on doing this with the help of one very amazing blog: Bake at 350*! If you have never checked her out, she has amazing tutorials on cookie decorating!

Some of the amazing cookies created on Bake at 350!

I thought I would start off with something simple like her Vanilla Almond Sugar Cookie recipe, and just getting the recipe down – no decorating or anything. I figured I could send them to Hubs even if they aren’t the best I’ve ever made. You have to learn somehow! Then I thought I would work my way to decorating. I mean, I’m not going to learn that overnight, but I should be able to get good enough to have a nice homecoming treat for him!

If you love cookies, check out Bridget’s blog Bake at 350, even if you don’t want to bake them! I love just looking at everything she creates! She also is not just a cookies girl! There are recipes for other things like:: bread, bars, tarts, pies, icing, cakes… hundreds of recipes waiting to be discovered with pictures waiting to be drooled over!

I will let you all know my progress, but can’t promise anything as amazing as hers! PS: I will definitely be attempting the soldier boys for my “saildier” (get it, since he’s a sailor deploying with the Army?)!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

8 responses »

  1. Yum, those cookies look amazing! I now want a sugar cookie lol

    Reply
  2. What a great idea. I’ve recently learned that I’m not the best in the craft world – but definitely love baking in the kitchen. I too might have to start doing a little experimental baking especially considering I’m planning to begin volunteering with an organization twice a month. It would be awesome to take cookies with me!

    Reply
  3. fun fun!! I’ll have to check out that blog!

    Reply
  4. I love to bake cookies. Mine don’t look anything like hers but it’s still so fun!

    Reply
  5. Great shipping idea..sweet ship great in Pringles cans and they are easily packed and stacked in large flat rate boxes!!

    Reply
  6. I have a recipe for sugar cookies that are awesome. They roll out perfectly. And I have a butter icing recipe easy to make. If you have a kitchen aid mixer or something like that let me know. This won’t work with a hand mixer.

    Reply
  7. No joke, I’ve been on the Bake at 350 website all day, I have you to thank for that! Just when I thought I could pull myself away, I discovered her youtube channel…. MUST. STOP. WATCHING. Anyway, thanks for linking to the site, I’ll be making these for my husband while he’s away!

    Reply
  8. Thanks so much for the sweet shout-out! 🙂 Happy baking!!!

    {And thanks to your hubby…well, the whole family!}

    Reply

Add your two cents:

