RSS Feed

Happy Thanksgiving, Y’all!

A Turkey.

Image via Wikipedia

That is correct, today I am celebrating Thanksgiving with Nan and Hubs… and we’ll see if anyone else shows up. Last year was such a sad Thanksgiving and I know this year will be to. Moving away from family and being far enough that you can’t travel all the time takes a toll on me. I was most looking forward to this day in our trip!

We got up bright and early (7:30!) and got to work on our bird! Of course nobody in the family bothered to call and say they were coming, so who knows how many mouths we have to feed! We got a big ol’ 24 pounder, so I think Nan will be eating turkey for months! I definitely plan on having my fill because it is smelling delicious and has only been cooking an hour!

We aren’t going all out… just the turkey and stuffing, then mashed potatoes, steamed green beans and corn. Oh, and gravy! No casseroles, no pies, no snack trays out all day to nibble on. I have to be honest though- I don’t like casseroles or pies, and what we’re making is my dream Thanksgiving dinner. I only just now remembered Hubs like cranberry sauce! I guess I’m taking off my Forever Lazy snuggie and heading out to get some! Do they even sell that year round? (Nan has assured me they do!)

Sure, there is no Macy’s Parade either, but I guess in another month, while we eat pizza rolls and sip coke we can hang out and watch the parade, and that would be ok! I wonder if they play it super early and live in California, or pre-recorded and not until regular time… there’s something to look forward to!

I hope you are having a fabulous weekend, friends! If I can get into my gmail account, I have a VERY awesome post coming to you tomorrow on a beautiful etsy shop! You don’t want to miss it!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

3 responses »

  1. Hope you guys have a blast. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hope you have a terrific Thanksgiving! What??? No pies?? No peach pie? No apple pie? no Pumpkin or coconut cream??? I would die! I love pies and I love to bake them from scratch. Speaking of I owe my husband an apple pie. As soon as I can find our other pie pan. . . gotta stop giving pies out and forgetting who I game them to.

    Oh and thanks for making me want some turkey, like right now. You can’t do these things to a pregnant lady!

    Reply
  3. I agree. You can’t have Thanksgiving dinner, any time or any place, without pies. However, your dinner sounded great and I could just about smell the turkey cooking. Thanks for a fun post.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

