RSS Feed

Fit and “Flab”-u-less | Breaking Past Ten!

Posted on

Wowzers, y’all! I have not updated here in a quick minute but wanted to give a quick update and see how y’all are doing, if you’re on the same journey to a healthier you! The week before last I hit a plateau after gaining a few pounds back (think three, almost four!) I was confident the weight would drop back off… and maybe tomorrow they would be gone… and what was I doing wrong… and why are they still there?!? Hubs and I got out of our workout routine and diet was all I had really been focusing on. Oh, but it was the week I needed sugar cookies in my life.

I think one of the most important things was the fact that I did not deprive myself and I tracked. I tracked those three bags of M&Ms every day for three days. I tracked the night I sat there and ate five sugar cookies. I tracked the days I was a few hundred over calories. I tracked sitting on the couch crying to Anderson and eating five snack bags of Lays.

Then I called it like I saw it and got serious. I drank my water every day. I got back on a slightly healthier train and practiced moderation and then I faced the fear and hopped back on the scale. I had dropped down past those first ten pounds! Those ten pounds I put on the month Hubs got back from deployment! I was down and I felt great and re-invigorated with my journey.

As of weigh-in this morning, for the purpose of updating for this post, I am down 12.6 pounds from my beginning weight on My Fitness Pal. I am here to plead with you if you are on this journey as well: DO NOT GIVE UP! Allow the indulgences, but track them! It would have been very easy to give up after the small gain back (which felt HUGE at the time!) but I worked through it and overcame! I am very excited and keeping positive about our pending vacation back home! Lord knows there are foods that I am going to eat when we get back! First up is some good pancit and a Philly Cheesesteak. Oh, and a chili cheese dog from a swanky little hole in the wall! I think there will be a lot of salad dinners! Also, a pair of sneakers is already packed and ready to take with me. There will have to be walking and working out this trip for sure!

How do you survive vacation or going back home without gaining a load of weight back?

*This is representative of my personal journey for weight loss and overall better health. I have no formal (or informal for that matter) education in nutrition or exercise. I have consulted my physician and keep in contact with him if I feel something with my body just is not right. You should consult your physician before starting a new diet or exercise plan.

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

3 responses »

  1. Good job!!!! You’re way ahead of me! I joined My Fitness Pal to track my calories and I love it, but as soon as I start cheating and eating over my calorie limit, I stop tracking it and it usually takes me a few weeks to get back on there. Way to stay on the wagon!

    Reply
  2. You go girl! That’s awesome. I know exactly how you feel- when I see that I have gained a lot of times I comfort myself with a whole bowl of ice cream and then feel worse than when I started. I have been working out like a mad woman with a friend of mine who is a personal trainer. What a difference the exercise makes- it’s hard to be depressed when you know you’re doing everything you can! Keep it up!

    Reply
  3. So first of all, I have missed A LOT because I did not realize I had not updated the following from when you moved.

    However, that has been fixed and I am glad. I needed to see this. I have been seriously struggling lately and really on the verge of just quitting. It’s been hard but I am trying to get back on track. The all too near deployment is making it all much harder than I want it to be though. Oh well. Good luck and I wish you all the success in the world.

    Oh and if you care to follow, here’s my blog: http://homefrontbattle.blogspot.com/ if you don’t already read it.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

