RSS Feed

Sunday Kind Of Love

Posted on

Sundays in our house are not days for The Lord. I wish they were, but they just aren’t. We make Sunday Morning time for us: to connect with each other, To celebrate our love for each other… to enjoy breakfast together! Sure it’s something super insignificant on the surface, but when weekday mornings have a wake-up call of 0430, we take our 0830 sleep in time and enjoy making brunch with each other. There is something about getting in the kitchen and creating food together.

This weekend we took on EBELSKIVERS! Remember telling you how last week at our WS class we got the pan and mix? We were going to make them Saturday morning, but you need milk to make the batter, so we passed on it until Sunday morning so we could go get some. I sure am glad I did not read the directions on the batter before allowing Hubs to throw it in our basket, or else I am fairly sure we would have never gotten it. It called for two eggs, separated. You have to whip the egg whites until they are stiff but not forming hard peaks. What the heck does that mean? I have never attempted something of this magnitude in the kitchen because I am not a Food Network Star!

Thanks to my lovely Kitchen Aid though, I was actually able to do it! I was rather shocked and in my head the entire time was thinking how it looked like we’d be having cereal with that milk instead of Ebelskivers!

Whipping the egg white until they were stiff!

 There was no greater way to start this process than by having faith in my culinary skills!

SUCCESS!

With that it was time to fold the egg whites into the batter and get cooking! Ebelskivers are a Danish food- dare I say “pastry”. They are of a pancake consistency and filled with various items such as fruit, cream, chocolate, or a variety of other things. Williams Sonoma has a chocolate and a vanilla mix available. We went with vanilla and they were really just normal pancake tasting. They resembled a puff pastry, like a cream puff, but not as sweet. The can of mix says they can be made for breakfast or sweeter for dessert but that sometimes the Danish use them as dinner as well! We are thinking of making the bottom vanilla, the tops chocolate, and the filling strawberry! YUMMERS!

But moving right along: You take 1/4 tsp of melted butter and place it into each well in the pan. NOTE: 1/4 TEASPOON not 1/4 TABLESPOON! Yep, I dumped a bunch of butter in and had to pour it all back out! Once we got that situated, you heat it until it bubbles (about 30 seconds!) and them fill it with a tablespoon of batter.  You but a 1/4 tablespoon of filling on top of that, and then cover with another tablespoon of batter. You cook them for about 4 minutes and then turn them over!

Ebelskivers in the making!

We made seven with the blueberry Ebelskiver filling you see in the background and then I went out on a limb and got creative! I mixed a little mascarpone cheese with some seedless raspberry preserves and used that in the next seven we did. If you make them, get creative and see what is yummy! I think they sell long wooden spoons you can use to flip your Ebelskivers, but we took a less traditional route and used chopsticks. We had them on hand and they worked out pretty well.

Flip your Ebelskivers over!

They are a little tricky to flip and you just kind of roll them over in the well and tuck them all in. Overall though, it was not as difficult as I thought it would be! You cook them for a few more minutes on this side and then pop them out of the wells. For this, I just scooped them up with a metal soup spoon.

et, voila!

As you can see they come out a nice golden brown and aren’t perfectly round, but are spherical little puffs. You can use powdered sugar or whip cream to garnish them, but we used good old maple syrup!

Yummy in my tummy!

I think they are certainly something we would make about twice a month! We had fun in the kitchen and made something I never thought I would ever be able to make! It is a fun food to play around with and so versatile you can fill them with thousands of possibilities! Definitely a good investment on our part!

Have you ever had Ebelskivers? I’ve heard from one reader who filled them with salmon, cream cheese and dill for a fancy brunch when company came over! If you have made them, what have you filled them with? I’ll keep you posted on some of the things we try!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

3 responses »

  1. I have had those! There is an adorable Danish town in the middle of CA called Solvang, and I had them there. I think it was some type of berry filling, and it definitely had powdered sugar on top. Yum!

    As for the egg whites with stiff peaks–you must be reading my mind because I just had a FIASCO with that yesterday when attempting it for the first time. I don’t have a stand mixer–just a handheld electric–and mine never peaked. I had to do it again today for the rest of the recipe and watched a YouTube video that helped me learn how to do it with just a whisk and elbow grease. Story forthcoming on my blog later this week.

    Reply
  2. I love that you beat egg whites! I intentionally avoid recipes that call for that, because I have to dirty so many dishes, just to make it more light and airy and it just doesn’t seem worth it to me. Maybe if I actually did it and saw the results, I would change my mind. 🙂

    It looks like you guys did a great job! And how fun that you got to cook with your husband! That’s definitely a good bonding activity!

    Reply
  3. OH MY WORD!!!! Please come to Hawaii and be my personal chef!!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

