RSS Feed

13 Ounces or Less :: Sent With Love

Posted on

While perusing Facebook today I happened to see the link to a blog that Jess (from Jessica Lynn Writes) posted. You know Jess, right? She just moved to ITALY! Anyway: It was to a fun blog she posted about, Giver’s Log. She posts these “Fun Mail” stories about how she sends items to friends through the normal mail. Things like flip-flops, plastic eggs, bouncy balls. You can check her out : Here.

I immediately thought about what a cool idea that would be. I am collecting addresses of folks who would like to get something fun, of 13 ounces or less, in the mail. I am NOT setting this up in a swap format at this time. I am asking if you would like something from me, on some random day, in your mailbox. I am thinking once every other month or so. In turn, maybe you would send something back, at some random day, when the mood hits. As you all know from my shop, I believe in the art of the handwritten letter. I believe there is a strong community found here in blogland, and I would like to make that leap to mail friends! Getting to know each other on a closer level. Opening our mailboxes and getting something other than bills! 

If you are interested:: check out Giver’s Log and see some of the fun ideas she has come up with! If you want to be a 13 ounce package pal, drop me a line! Maybe this will take off and become something bigger than I am expecting. In that event maybe I will set it up as a swap where each month we all send one package to one person (minimum). I just don’t feel organized enough right now to want to spearhead that.

There is no spending limit! It just has to be creative and under 13 ounces. Maybe one month it will be something cute from the dollar store, maybe one month it will be something a little more intense. It all just depends on my mood that month and yours in your package. CREATIVITY is what counts.

***If Interested:: send me an e-mail (theyoungretiree {at} gmail {dot} com) with your address! Also, feel free to include your favorite color(s), any hobbies, allergies or things you just plain hate … oh, and your birthday 🙂

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

3 responses »

  1. 🙂 So glad you’re doing this! I saw it last night on Pinterest and couldn’t resist sharing it with people. I just posted a comment to your comment on my FB post (whoa, talk about confusing!), but I don’t know if I can receive anything fun, because any sent mail from the states to me has to have a customs form with it. Sad, huh! Hmmmm…actually, now that I think about it, regular letters don’t need a customs form. I may need to look into this more 🙂 I hope you have great success and lots of people want fun goodies from you!

    Reply
  2. What a neat idea! I’ll have to check out those ideas. I love snail mail & sending letters! 🙂

    Reply

Add your two cents:

