RSS Feed

This Is The Day, The Lord Has Made!

Posted on

This is the day the LORD has made;

let us rejoice in it and be glad.

-Psalm 118:24

Remember a while ago when I was really pumped and excited about reading the Bible? I was going to do the Bible in 90 Days reading program. I had bought the little kit and was all set to finally immerse myself in the Lord. I sat down with The Word and felt so overwhelmed! It was such an intense program that I got discouraged in my lack of love for reading in general and gave up rather quickly. My Bible sat on my dresser, everyday reminding me of my failure in this task. I did not feel God pushing me to read. I did not feel the desire to read. I felt like a flame I wanted to burn so brightly had faded and burnt out before I could provide it with the kindling it needed to rage.

 I was jumping through blogs the other day and pounced upon one I had never seen before: Fly With Me! I came to her blog via a button on the side of a blog, identical to the one which is now on the side of my blog:

It was as if I noticed a spark in the darkness. Reading His Word in a year would be much easier than three months! It was as if God was leading me to a program that was made for someone who enjoys reading just about as little as I do! After checking out the reading schedule I was sold. This is the day, friends! This is the day that the Lord has made and I am confident that I can devote myself to reading His Word over the course of the next year!

Please help hold me to this friends! If you see me on twitter not mentioning my time with Jesus, don’t be afraid to ask me how my reading is going! If you are interested, click on the picture above and head on over to Come Fly With Me to get more of the deets!

***Please note that all verses that are written on this blog will come from the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops online Bible.

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

2 responses »

  1. I love this path you are headed down. My faith has been getting stronger by the day as well and you will see more talk about it on my blog as well. It’s a great feeling. I’ve been doing a great study (Hope for the Homefront) and it’s just been doing wonders for me. It’s a wonderful feeling!

    Reply
  2. Yay! A year is much more reasonable than 3 months, for sure. The Bible is an overwhelming book. Lots of people want to just jump in and read and it’s not really something you can have that mindset with. There are A LOT of boring parts that will get you bogged down with unnecessary information. And that’s where a lot of readers lose heart (myself included). This will be a great schedule! I think I will check it out too. I can not get motivated to read lately. And it’s driving me crazy.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

