RSS Feed

Ten Things :: VACATION!

I saw this over on Lauren’s blog: Enchanting, and had to jump in… you know, since I’m getting ready for our “working” vacation! It’s from a new to me blog: Roots and Rings!  Get ready to learn a little more about me and my vacation dreams!

1. What is your dream vacation?
Not to be the awkward one, but anywhere with my husband would be good enough for me. Beyond that I think a Mediterranean cruise would be wicked awesome!
 
2. What has been your favorite trip so far in your life?
July 4th weekend, 2008. This was the first trip my husband and I ever took (when we were just getting serious in dating)! We went to a small island in the Chesapeake Bay: Tangier! Oh, It was AMAZING! You take a ferry over to this island that was lost in time! The people there still speak with a hint of Olde English and it’s almost like they have their own language! They have electricity, but no cars on the island- only bikes and golf carts, but you can walk everywhere! We stayed in a cute little Bed and Breakfast. It rained almost the whole time, which was creepy when you could see water no matter where you were. We missed our crabbing tour, but it was just an amazing trip into history! 
 
3. If you and one of your best friends could go anywhere in the world for one week, where would it be and why?
Anywhere? I don’t even know enough about the world to make this decision so I would have to consult Hubs. He’s seen so many amazing places thanks to the Navy. My dream would be Ireland, naturally though.
 
4. Have you ever booked a trip using an online deal? How did it go?
Nope. The only online deal I’ve looked for when booking a trip would be airlines.
 
5. What’s your favorite thing to do while you’re on vacation?
Experience things we never would otherwise and eat regional food. When we were in Texas and Tennessee we ate bar-b-que, when we go to South Carolina we eat pretty much nothing but shrimp! Hubs’ dad knows where to get the.best.shrimp!
 
6. Have you ever missed an opportunity to take a trip that you regret?
I don’t have a passport. The only thing I could even kind of count would have been meeting Hubs in a few of the ports they stopped at last deployment, but he worked so hard I would have been alone most of the time. I just accepted that’s how it works with a husband in the medical department of a Carrier and didn’t look at it as a missed opportunity.
 
7. You travel far away from home and get stranded with no way to buy anything, what’s the one thing you can’t live without?
I’d like to think if I was in this situation I would have been previously trained by Bear Gryles, or else I wouldn’t be wandering around to get caught in this position. I’;; go with a swiss army knife so I could do some survival stuff. If it was on vacation and I got stranded though, I would say: enough money to make a phone call to get money wired to me, or get to the American Embassy.
 
8. What’s one of your favorite traveling memories?
I will have to not retell the story of Tangier, so I will go with our South Carolina Christmas 2009. We were already married but nobody knew, so it was our mini honeymoon. We went to Beaufort one night for dinner and to see where Hubs’ great grandparents lived, we followed interstate signs to Georgia without a map or GPS to get us to Savannah, and we just enjoyed each other in our alone time away from family.
 
9. All included resort or backpacking? Why?
All inclusive resort. We’re not really outdoorsy type people.
 
10. Are you more of a lie on the beach kind of person on vacation, or do you prefer to see the sights?
See the sights! It is most likely something I will never see again, whereas I grew up within half hour distance to the beach the most.
 
How fun was this? Now you know a little bit more about me and my amazing travels *cough, cough*. Maybe one day we’ll be travellers!
About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

3 responses »

  1. my husband and i are the same way… when we go somewhere we want to experience the culture!

    Reply
  2. Aah I’m so glad you did this! Chelsea’s Ten Things series is great- it gets you thinking about a lot of stuff 🙂

    Mike has been talking about Tangier Island so much lately. I couldn’t wait to go before, and now after reading your review of it I *really* can’t wait!

    🙂

    Reply
  3. These are great answers..just came across your blog and wanted to stop by and say hello!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

