RSS Feed

“Chew” On This

If I were being completely honest, I would have to confess a few things to you, friends. I like to break the mold of common conception and not be a housewife who watches day time television. It isn’t all too appealing, overall. Truth be told: I loved Oprah. Truth: When I remember he is on I enjoy Nate Berkus. Truth: Ellen cracks me up. Truth: I seldom remember these show are on and end up listening to music for a greater portion of the day, or having the food network on in the background.

With that this should come as no surprise to you: Today, a brand new show aired that I was super excited for: The Chew (on ABC). I am in love with every one of the hosts (there are five, each specializing in something different!) and was pleased with the result! Did you catch it? It was on here at noon and I will be sure to watch it while I take a break for lunch.

They started the show with a recipe I kind of turned my nose up to, but I think I could give it a try. I’ve never had kale… but I like spinach.

INGREDIENTS:
8 pork cutlets (2 oz. each)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/2 bunch parsley
8 slices aged ham
Flour for dusting
Salt & freshly ground black pepper
4 tbsp unsalted butter
1 minced shallot
4 cups torn kale
1 16oz can white beans
1/2 cup dry white wine
Zest & juice of 1 lemon

DIRECTIONS:
Using a meat mallet, pound each pork slice to about 1/8-inch thick.
Place 1 parsley leaf and 1 slice of ham on each cutlet and fold over to form a sandwich, with the meat inside the prosciutto, Pound lightly with the meat mallet, then secure with toothpicks.

In a 10- to 12- inch sauté pan, heat 2 tablespoons of the butter and the olive oil over high heat until it foams and subsides.
Season the flour with salt and pepper, and dredge the cutlets lightly in the flour. Add to the pan and cook for 2 minutes on each side. Transfer to a platter and keep warm.

Add the shallots to the pan with the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter and cook for 1 minute add the almonds and cook for an additional minute.

Pour the white wine into the pan and reduce, stirring with a wooden spoon to dislodge the browned bits on the bottom of the pan. Add the kale and toss to combine. Add the beans. Add the orange zest and juice. Chop the remaining parsley and stir in. Pour the sauce over the pork chops, and serve immediately.

He cooked it in five minutes and it cost less than five dollars a serving! Not too shabby! The other recipe from today that just absolutely spoke to me was a delicious autumn breakfast “treat”!

INGREDIENTS:
1 Cup Bisquick Baking Mix
1 Egg
1/2 Cup Milk
1 Teaspoon Pumpkin Pie Spice
Zest of 1/2 Lemon
2 Medium Apples, pared and cored

DIRECTIONS:
Beat baking mix, egg and milk with rotary beater until smooth. Add pumpkin pie spice and lemon zest to batter and mix until incorporated. Grease griddle. Cut apples crosswise in 1/8-inch slices. Using a toothpick dip slices into batter. Cook on hot griddle until golden brown, turning once. Serve hot with apple cider syrup.

Apple Cider Syrup

INGREDIENTS:
Apple Cider
Lemon juice, freshly squeezed
Ground Cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:
Add apple cider, lemon juice, and cinnamon to saucepan and bring to a boil, then reduce for about 5 minutes. Pour syrup over slices and serve!

How fun do you think those are going to be? I’m really excited about them! Then of course you can’t be daytime television without a little drama, right? Daphne Oz is one of the co-host (and I happen to like her!) and made a smoothie. I feel bad for the girl because she seems to be a double-edged sword. We only know of her because of her dad… and as it goes, she can’t get out from under his shadow. He came to the show today, which I thought was cute (he brought flowers for her!) and he gave his 2 cents about the smoothie. If you’re not comfortable with any of the ingredients (as was the case with the facebook drama on The Chew fan page) consult your physician first! I thought it looked pretty tasty though!

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 Cup Yogurt
1 Cup Fresh Fruit
1/2 Cup Blueberries
1 Teaspoon Honey
1 Tablespoon Ground Psyllium Husks
2 Ester-C Capsules
1 Cup Ice

DIRECTIONS:
In a blender, combine ingredients and blend until smooth.

I think I will talk to my doctor about the Psyllium before trying it just to make sure it won’t interact with any medication I’m on. It is found in Metamucil, but in its whole form does not have all the added “junk”.

Clinton Kelly was kind of the lead host today, I don’t know if he will stay that way. He has this segment where he takes a plate of food and teaches you how to make it a platter of appetizers! Today he transformed a BLT and pork chops! Then of course you have Mario Batali teaching us how to get in touch with our inner Italiano!!

Yes, this is definitely a show I am interested in and will set a reminder to watch!

**all images were found on The Chew facebook fan page!**

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

3 responses »

  1. I’m up for trying that smoothie! I’m soooo bad about eating breakfast – always have been, so things like that really appeal. I’m just surprised my husband hasn’t mentioned this show to me yet, he’s a real foodie and I didn’t think any new food/cooking shows ever got past his radar! Thanks for sharing, Elizabeth!

    Reply
  2. I saw a preview for that show and really wanted to watch it! I need to figure out the TV schedule out here. Lol…but if you can believe it, we haven’t turned the TV on once since we got out here!

    Reply
  3. I find it so hard to believe that it was only a month ago that i didn’t know how to boil and egg and no i can actually cook dinner for my family instead of my wife always have to do it lol

    Reply

Add your two cents:

