RSS Feed

Dinner Prayers with Hubs

My husband is not the most religious man. I try to get him involved with faith, and the easiest way to do this is by having him say a quick prayer before dinner. He usually says the same thing every night (which is fine with me):

Dear Lord, Bless this food and the hands that prepared it. Amen.

I would like him to be a little more into it. Somedays he thanks God for more blessings than just the food, but usually this is it.

Today, we had a fight about him messing with stuff in the kitchen he shouldn’t be – moving things around on me and constantly putting things back in the fridge that I had sitting out for specific reasons. One of those foolish, hormone induced arguments.

Tonight for our dinner time prayer he went with his usual and for some reason (hormones) I said “Is that all you’ve got, really?” So, he changed it and had me laughing, because he loves me and knows I don’t mean the nastiness most of the time. His new prayer:

Dear Lord, Bless this food and the hands that prepared it. Forgive those who trespass in the kitchen. Amen. 

I love that man!

INSPIRE us friends! What are some of your mealtime prayers? Do you “wing it” or do you have set prayers?

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

2 responses »

  1. I grew up Jewish so of course there are the more ritual blessings over the food but I prefer the songs we used to sing at our summer camp as grace over meals. They’re something I plan to institute when I have a family (partially so my future girls know them when its time for them to go to camp) and partially because I think they’re beautiful. This is the dinner prayer its from an LDS sight and is a little more chorally then a room full of girls at summer camp but you’ll get the idea (http://www.ldshymns.com/lds-hymns-151-175/160-softly-now-the-light-of-day). My personal favorite is the Lunch time prayer called the Wayfarer’s Grace http://www.users.ms11.net/~gsong/Graces/words/wayfar.html and while i’m link spamming you this is the breakfast prayer. http://www.gsong.ms11.net/Graces/words/newday.html

    Reply
  2. I’m so glad to know that someone else is dealing with this. I had to laugh at your husband’s final prayer- it made me think of a similar spat with my husband- he never puts things away! God bless him for being understanding when those hormones rage… 😉

    Reply

Add your two cents:

