RSS Feed

The Little Things Like Running Errands

This week has been full of little blessings – some of which had to be pointed out to me in an older magazine article.

Keylette from "Sew Much Detail", Shoes: my FAVORITE bright orange TOMS!

 Yesterday I was in a waiting room and picked up a copy of TIME from July 2011. Inside I found an article by Aryn Baker titled “Road Warriors” and was enthralled. It was about a movement in Saudi Arabia, where it is illegal for women to drive. I finished the article and sat there thinking how blessed we are in this country. In reflection of this revolutionary movement, Baker wrote:

They are leaving their drivers at home and heading out on their own to the grocery store or to the doctor or to pick up their kids from school. Those thankless errands may plague women around the world, but for some in Saudi Arabia they are a long-dreamed-of freedom.
I couldn’t help but pause and reflect. My husband and I share one vehicle. On days I have errands to run, or simply want to be able to go out during the day, I get up and ride with him into work so I can have the car. There have been many days that I sit in the car and complain because his job is demanding and he’s not off on time. I complain while there are women in this world who face jail time for the pleasure of driving to the grocery store. After reading this article, I know I will never look at seemingly meaningless errands the same way ever again.
 
It was one more of those a-ha moments where blessings just smacked me in the face.
 
Oh, and another blessing in my life this week was finding the GIVElove365 website! I am ready and willing to make changes in my life, to be inspired, and to inspire others. In the short amount of time I have been exposed to the site it has already begun changing my outlook on life and the people I interact with on a daily basis. When you begin to work on yourself, your life is a happier place to be!
About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

6 responses »

  1. Awesome post!! And great picture too 🙂

    Reply
  2. Taylor @ Our Military Home

    Wow, I never thought of running errands as being a blessing. Good to think about.

    Reply
  3. Good food for thought – thank you!

    Reply
  4. Thanks for this reminder. We are so lucky to have what we have. But we often take it for granted.

    p.s. I love your key chain!

    Reply
  5. love your point of view!

    Reply
  6. what a way to put things into perspective huh? thanks for sharing that!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

