RSS Feed

Faith Filled Fridays | The Little Things: Date Nights to Doggies!

This week has been rather exciting when it comes to little things touching our lives in big ways! We’ll start with date night last Friday night! We have found a little Mexican restaurant here in town that turned me into a guac lover! The food is so delicious that we have been known to go there twice in a week!

We sit on the patio and take in the atmosphere! The lights dangling, the umbrellas, the gorgeous color of the building and the music! It's like being in a small town in Mexico somewhere!

I know you can’t really see it too well in this picture, but I didn’t want to be awkward about it, but I’m trying to catch the shoes of the people beyond the extra chair at our table:

They were both well into their 50's and still rocking the Chuck Taylor's! Not only that, but they were matching! This was one of the cutest things I'd ever seen!

Saturday, we decided we would head to Five Guys for lunch. Have you ever had their bacon cheese dog? Oh man, it is delicious and proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy… with relish 😉

The perfectly prepared hot dog, some american cheese, bacon and relish! With the best fries in the world. Five Guys makes me smile.

We headed into the city for a hot dog, and came back with…

!”]We’ve been experiencing lots of little things with Jonesie this week. Things like:

Keep your shoes up!

We also learned that he has amazing upper body strength and uses it to jump and hold onto the door to our garage.

He held himself there long enough for me to grab my camera, take a few shots, and call for him to get down. Good golly!

Other than our crazy dog days, we have had a week full of blessings. Hubs is having a trying time right now at work with one of the sailors in his department. The young man just needs prayers. He is a disgrace to the uniform, to the United States Navy, and to his country. He has gotten tangled up in some mischievous behavior and is UA. He is quite the thorn in the command’s side. As a result, Hubs is working longer hours. We had a huge power outage last week in San Diego county where Hubs was kept at work until after midnight, ensuring the supplies for the hospital that needed to be refrigerated found generated refrigerated homes.

As a result, we are learning to enjoy the time we do get together.

Hanging out in "Zombie Land" before our cooking class: an empty Mall area. Hubs said it was creepy being at a mall when there was nobody else there (think 9:30am!) but it was fun to hold hands and walk the streets in the silence!

 Oh, and of course:

Learning to make pasta from scratch... YUM!

Little things that are big things- little things we might not remember years down the road. The weeks are made of little moments that I hold onto for the fleeting moments that they are there.

If you are hopping over from Lindsay‘s party, welcome! Let me know you stopped on by! I hope you had a week full of fabulous little things, amazing blessings, and a million smiles!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

13 responses »

  1. “proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy… with relish”
    Heehee, love it 🙂

    Reply
  2. LOL ROFL Your dog reminds me so much of mine… I don’t know if that’s good or bad… LOL But it’s hilarious!!

    Reply
  3. Great list! I love Five Guys and can’t wait to eat it again in November! Glad you had such a good week, Elizabeth! Thanks for linking up!

    Reply
  4. I’ve only been to Five Guys once but it was delicious! Your doggie is sooo cute. My goodness how I wish I could have a puppy, but eh, we’re getting a baby and that’s just as great!

    Reply
  5. holy man.. your dog is amazing! and super adorable! So is that hot dog.. yummy!

    Reply
  6. Haha! I love that you went into the City for a hot dog and came home with a REAL dog! 🙂 He’s a cutie (and seems like quite the handful, already!). I am wanting a dog really badly – just worried how it will affect the Queen (our kitty)…so we’re taking our time before making the decision.

    That’s a really cute photo of you and your Hubs in Zombieland. 🙂

    Have a beautiful weekend, Elizabeth!

    Reply
  7. Mexican food…..yum! I adore guacamole! I’m looking forward to going out for Mexican food tomorrow night with my family for my dad’s birthday. I’ve never had a hot dog from Five Guys but love a bacon cheeseburger from there. Oh and the fries too! It is hard to walk past a FG and not get an instant craving. Congrats on your new family member. Looking forward to the other crazy things he will be up to. Have a great weekend Elizabeth!

    Reply
  8. Wow…your pup is amazing!!! And that hot dog looks great…I don’t think I have ever been to a Five Guys, but sounds like it must be good! Have a great weekend. 🙂

    Reply
  9. I’m with you on Five Guys…nom nom! Congrats on the crazy new puppy! Ha!

    Reply
  10. Oh my gracious, that dog is crazy!! Looks like you had a great week!

    Reply
  11. Wow, that dog is insanely strong! Are you taking that pasta class? If so, that is so so cool. One of my fall goals is to learn to make pasta from scratch. I’ve done it a few times with my Grandma but it’s been a while!

    Reply
  12. Haha, you crack me up! That dog..amazing!! Date nights are too though.. 😉

    Reply
  13. Jonesie is too funny. I can’t wait to see what else he is up too.

    I hope things get better at work for your hubby. I understand what you’re going through. Having the ship in dry dock = long hours and not seeing hubby too much so I love the time we do get to spend together.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

