RSS Feed

Faith Filled Friday | Little Things Like Lunches and Love

When Lindsay over at “From the Aisle to Aloha” asked if there would be an interest in a link up of those little things that made our weeks brighter and better, I was ready for the responses to flood in positively, and they did! She was one of the first blogs I began following way back when and have followed her ever since. She is an amazing artist and a woman of great Faith. I often find myself looking at her blog just dreaming of working on my photography to get it half as good as hers! I am so excited to find talented bloggers through this link up, and little things we find to be great blessings that I never stop to think about!

Since the announcement that there would be a link up, I have slowed down life a little. I have thought about the things I have that so many don’t. The freedom to have healthy food whenever I want it; The opportunity to go out to eat on a whim with my amazing husband; the ability to have him buy me a bracelet “just because”. Big things, and little things that we are blessed enough to experience and little things that make me smile.

If you are stopping by from the link up, hello and welcome! (You’ll know me as Elizabeth @ The Young Retiree!) 

I often take for granted the delicious food God gives me. I am able to have a healthy and delicious lunch everyday. We may not always get to eat what we want, when we want it- but we never go without food, we never go to bed hungry, I’ve never had to stand in line at a soup kitchen or a food pantry and we have nutritious food at our fingertips. 

The best lunch: chicken caesar salad!

Sometimes we do go out on a whim and we are fortunate enough to enjoy lunch together:

Enjoying a burrito bowl with Hubs

When we were out over the weekend we were lucky enough to find a pretty awesome gourmet cupcake place close to us. This made us smile from ear to ear!

His and Hers cupcakes on our fnacy dessert dishes!

I haven’t just taken note of the yummy in my week. I have also taken note of the friends in my life. As a military spouse it can be difficult to find new friends upon moving. As a Navy wife living at a Marine Corps base, it seemed like I would never make the leap into the Marine Spouse community. I have been blessed to find an awesome group of millies to hang out with and have girls nights with!

Ladies night!

Perhaps the funniest thing to happen this week, was waking up to find a white rabbit in our backyard. We recently made friends with our next door neighbor by their little dog climbing under the fence to play with our pups. They have a rabbit who learned the trick as well and we got to bunny sit for the day while they were gone. It was an experience I don’t think we’ll soon forget! Friendship between she and I came from a tiny chihuahua and a little white bunny!

Barry {the} White {rabbit}

God is good, all the time. I’m looking forward to slowing down and enjoying the little things through the week. The things that make me smile, the blessings God has bestowed on me, and the signs of love in my life.

What are the little things in your life this week? Head on over to Lindsay at From The Aisle To Aloha to see what little things are touching the lives of others.

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

10 responses »

  1. What great things to be thankful for. If we ever move from our area, I will be very sad, we have so many good friends we made in college that also stayed in this area. Making friends and feeling included can be difficult I agree.

    Reply
  2. We are truly blessed with so much! Barry is so cute! Thanks for stoppin by my blog! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Aww Barry is so cute! I miss living near a base and having a military community around me. It is great having that support and friendship 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend!

    Reply
  4. I’m so inspired by your adventure of reading the Bible in 90 days that I am challenging myself to read the Bible cover to cover by the end of the year. I’ve always wanted to do this, but never made it. I even tried again at the beginning of the summer, and I hate to admit it, I failed. Can we be reading buddies? 🙂

    Reply
  5. I love that white bunny! So our neighbors across the street have a bunny— and they let it roam wild, like a cat. When my husband and I first moved in, we saw it hopping across the street and I thought it was a cat…

    coming over from aisle to aloha! happy weekend!

    Reply
  6. Yum yum yum! That looks delicious! Especially those cupcakes! (Maybe you could whip some up with silicone liners? 😉 ) I’m just getting around to the party today and I love this post! That bunny is so cute and would definitely be a great little visitor! =)

    Reply
  7. Linking in, finally, and can’t wait to read more about your journey in seeking Him. I get all geeked up when I see the words “philosophy” and “religious studies” in the same sentence (my hubs teaches those courses for a Christian university so I love that kind of chat) because I love engaging with other thought-full believers. You’ll be hearing more from me, sista! xo

    Reply
  8. HI Elizabeth!

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and taking the time to say hello…I do so appreciate that! I love meeting new blog peeps, especially those who share in my love for the Lord – it is nice to be able to encourage one another! I love your Little Things list…especially the first one. You are absolutely right; even though we may not be able to eat exactly what we want when we want it, the fact that we never go without food is most important.

    I love that you are actively trying to strengthen your faith; enough so that you’ve dedicated a new blog to Him. That is so wonderful and such a nice reminder to all of us who read this. I look forward to reading along! 🙂

    And your new little rabbit friend is adorable! I had a white bunny when I was younger…I miss him!

    Have a beautiful weekend!

    Aloha,
    Angie

    Reply
  9. what a great post! very inspiring… and i have to say i LOVE chipotle 🙂

    Reply
  10. I get sooo jealous every time I see Chipotle. I can’t believe there isn’t a single one in Hawaii. I really hope the next place we are sent has one that I don’t have to take a plane to get to. haha I miss burrito bowls so much!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

