RSS Feed

Fit and “Flab-U-Less” 6 | “Free Days”

So we are another week down and if you are joining me on your own journey for health, how are you doing? I must say that this week I was a little surprised when I stepped on up to the scale: I was down 2.6 lbs this week! That is an overall loss of 9.4lbs. Not too shabby and rounds out to 1.5lbs a week, just like I set up MFP to do.

I’m no dietician or nutritionist, but I want to talk about something I do that keeps me sane, and doesn’t seem to be throwing me off track: Fun Food Friday! (Sometimes we have it on Saturday or Sunday, but it sounds better when it’s on Friday!) For the most part, on weeks I’m not too tired, we stick with the calorie counts. I have no problem being between 50-100 under my goal or 50-100 over my goal on any given day. There’s no way I’m hitting it dead on everyday!

ONE DAY A WEEK: we kind of don’t pay too much attention to what we eat. I still track the things I eat, but once a week, the tracker is slightly embarrassing, and I allow it. I don’t allow myself to get upset about it. I don’t allow it to bring me down or throw me off track. I refuse to call it the ever popular phrase “Free Day” because I still hold myself accountable and track. Perhaps it’s the day we go crazy at El Torito, or I have Chipotle for lunch and dinner (don’t judge… I don’t! hehe!). Perhaps it’s a night out with the girls where everyone decided to bring cupcakes!

I never go violently over my calorie count for the day- I just use one day where I don’t judge if those calories weren’t gained in the healthiest of fashions.

I simply remind myself tomorrow will be a better day than today and carry on. I also think it’s great for throwing my metabolism off and not letting it get too complacent. Throw in some crazy food and make it work! Nine and a half pounds down, I’ll take it.

If you are on this journey with me, friends: let’s make this another fit and “flab-u-less” week, and don’t get down on yourselves if you indulged a bit with weekend celebrations!  

*This is representative of my personal journey for weight loss and overall better health. I have no formal (or informal for that matter) education in nutrition. I have consulted my physician and keep in contact with him if I feel something with my body just is not right.

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

6 responses »

  1. Definitely! Cheat days, free days, fun food day — whatever you want to call them — are a necessity. I tend to not track my food on those days because it makes me crazy, but it hasn’t messed me up either. There’s no way I could have watched football yesterday with some jalapeno poppers and nachos! 🙂

    Reply
  2. In our bible study we learned that way. Food is made to be enjoyed in moderation. You dont have to cut everything out completely, just do it in moderation 🙂

    Reply
  3. The week days are reserved for healthy nutritional meals at home… weekends are harder because we go out to eat with friends or over to friends houses (ie-BBQs) so as long as you keep up the workouts and good week day food you should be alright!

    Reply
  4. Congrats on the continued weight loss! My doctor calls your method “Sunday Funday” and supports it as well in relation to me not turning into a house while pregnant.

    Reply
  5. Yay!! I’m so proud of you!

    I think having leeway is a huge factor in success. I tend to be a creature of extremes but when I’m able to find that middle ground…works like a charm. Because this is a long-term lifestyle change, not just a diet until it’s all off and then you can eat garbage 24/7 (I kinda hate when people say that, it’s true,but it’s annoying and cliche haha.)

    Keep up the good work!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

