RSS Feed

#B90Days | In Preperation for Week 1

Cover of "The Bible in 90 Days: Cover to ...

Cover via Amazon

Tomorrow I am starting the Bible in 90 Days. When I ordered my Bible from the website I also purchased the Participant’s Guide. It was $9.99 and I figured it could only aid me in my journey. I cracked it open last night and took a quick peek and I’m glad I did! In the introduction Ted Cooper Jr., the creator of the Bible in 90 Days, let’s you know he first started this journey six years ago and was Agnostic. He says that half way through his journey he became a believer. The Bible is powerful and if it can transform a non-believer, I can only imagine how it will deepen my belief and faith in God!

I am Catholic, and was initially hesitant to use this system, but am really looking forward to the journey. On the B90Days website they have a page about blogging through the 90 days. Mom’s Toolboxdoes the 90 day journey twice a year and is just past halfway through. I think I will do this again next summer with the larger group as I am sure reading The Bible at different times produces different reactions. For know I am going rogue and am counting on you, friends, to help me along the way!

The Participation Guide is broken into sessions. Session 1 asks some pretty basic questions.

  1. Have you ever tried to read the entire Bible before? Why or why not? Back in High School we read the Old Testament freshman year and the New Testament Sophomore year. That has been the only reason I have ever actively read the Bible.
  2. If you have tried to read the Bible in it’s entirety, what challenges did you face in fulfilling your desire? Where did you start? How far did you get? I made it all the way through over the course of the two years. The challenges back then were mostly being a high school student more interested in anything than the curriculum of the classes we were taking. You had class clowns who made everything a joke and were full of distraction. When I was 14 and 15 I just didn’t have the desire to sit in a classroom and read it aloud as a class. It was definitely a half-hearted process.
  3. What have you found to be difficult and what have you found to be rewarding in your attempts to read the Bible regularly? I don’t read the Bible regularly. I briefly thumbed through to different verses when looking for wedding scripture and that was the last time I cracked a Bible open.
  4. If you have successfully read the Bible before, what were the circumstances? What motivated you to keep at it? How satisfied were you with your accomplishment? The main motivation was passing the class. I paid enough attention to pass with a B. I would like to know that if I had to take a test again, I would boost that up to an A.
  5. If you have started to read the Bible but have never finished your reading goal, what really kept you from finishing what you started? (N/A)
  6. What most excites you about the prospect of reading the Bible in 90 days? Focusing hardcore on the Word. Immersing myself into the journey and doing for me, because I want to deepen my faith.
  7. Why do you believe it is important to read the entire Bible? What do you expect to discover in terms of practical living, spiritual growth, knowledge of history or other areas? I do think it’s important to read and hope I would continue with studying the Bible once this process is done. I hope to grow drastically spiritually. I would love to have a little file box in my mind of scripture that really speaks to me in different settings and situations. Religion was such a huge part of my life growing up and my grandmother (who raised me) made sure I had stong faith and values. Now, I want to do it for me!

With this, friends, I begin the journey! Thank you for your prayers during this time of growth!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

Add your two cents:

