RSS Feed

Cupcakes: Easy As… pie?

Earlier in the week a friend posted on twitter that she made a delicious two ingredient cake. I’m sorry, what? A baked good that I couldn’t possibly mess up? Was this too good to be true? Yesterday she posted the recipe to San Diego Momfia and since I was headed to the grocery store, I added the ingredients to the list.

As you know I’m watching the calories, and portion control is so essential for a healthy diet. What better form of portion control than cupcakes? You can count each one so much easier than 1/12 of a cake… I mean, what the heck is that?

My version, the cupcake!

Laura (the friend, who posted to twitter and SDMomfia) has the initial recipe as a box of cake mix (I used Betty Crocker Yellow Butter Recipe, but Sespi from And You Never Did Think uses spice cake mix in her similar cookie recipe!) and a 15 oz can of pumpkin pie filling. Could it get easier than that? NO!

But then Laura wanted to give you a special extra treat- so she added Toffee bits! Sespi adds chocolate chips. I’m thinking walnuts would be good too, but I haven’t played around with it. I used the cake mix, pumpkin pie mix and toffee… then frosted with cream cheese frosting- yummers!

Here is the kicker the nutritional values! My batter made 23 cupcakes (ok, because I maybe had a lick… or four of batter – quality control!) and here is the info for a cupcake with frosting!

  • Calories: 309 (just cupcake: 159)
  • Carbs: 53 (just cupcake: 29)
  • Fat: 10 (just cupcake: 4)
  • Protein: 1 (just cupcake)
  • Sodium: 307 (just cupcake: 227)
  • Sugar: 42 (just cupcake: 20)

Those are the nutritional values I monitor over on MFP, but if you are interested in a different value, let me know and I can get it for you. Not too shabby for a sweet treat! Of course, since I’m watching my waistline, the rest got sent to work with Hubs today! Hopefully they like them! All I know is these will definitely be an autumn staple around this house!

HELLO AUTUMN! (Even if only coming from my oven)

*Thanks for the recipe Laura! I am officially in love!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

6 responses »

  1. That looks amazing!! Gonna have to try that for the household here. I made fruit pizzas last night for desert and by the time I went to bed last night….all but 2 (i made 14) were gone. Mind you, I use large homemade sugar cookies as the base, but still…the kids only had one each….lol.

    Reply
  2. Thanks for the shout out! 🙂 I’ve never thought about adding nuts, but I bet that would be really good! Nuts and chocolate chips perhaps? I need to go buy some pumpkin….

    Reply
  3. Do you follow the cooking instructions on the cake box?? Forgive me but I can’t find the baking instructions and I am really baking challenged ….HELP

    Reply
  4. oooh those look good–send me over some??

    Reply
  5. This looks delicious! I love anything pumpkin.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

