RSS Feed

The Bible in 90 Days | Starting a Journey

Posted on

Over a year ago I ordered the kit for the Bible in 90 Days. In fact, it was last July (like 2010) when I was back home in Norfolk! Here I find myself about 13 months after receiving it, and am finally making time in my days to do it. I am going to use my 90 days as Monday through Friday- so it will be an 18 week journey. Well, a little longer because as much as I would love to stick with it while we are in the process of getting our HHGs, I just don’t think it will happen. We will see when we get there though. 

There have been several things happening in my life that call to mind a quote I saw over on Pinterest (which I never repined and had to make an image for it- If you have it pinned, will you @ me?).

This is a print I found on a church website and added the text. The photographer is J.T. Lowery.

Somewhere along the line, I stopped making time for God in my daily life. I find myself thinking how I’d love to have a verse for certain situations, and I don’t. As a Catholic School student in my younger days, I’ve studied the Bible and read it back in high school. In college, I attended weekly Bible Study with the Campus Ministry. Then I lost my dedication to my faith somewhere along the lines.

God has blessed me beyond measure and I need to give back to Him. I’ll post updates on my progress on Fridays. It just so happens they’ll be “Faith Filled Fridays” here at The Young Retiree for a bit. I am excited about this new journey and about getting serious once again with my relationship with God.

So friends, to get me excited I’d love to know if you’ve ever done the Bible in 90 Days challenge? Whether you have or have not, what is your favorite verse or book? For verses I would have to go with the two used in our wedding (which I’ll reveal when I make my way to them – you’ll have to be on the lookout!) and one of my favorites from my youth:

Philippians 4:8 – Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things. 

Would you like to join me for this Bible study? Drop me a line [TheYoungRetiree {at} gmail {dot} com] and let me know! The organization sent out emails for every day that I’ll be using as well and can forward along to anyone wanting to participate with me! I will stand down and wait to start on Monday, 5 Sept 2011 to give you time to contact me! (As far as I know, you just need a Bible- you don’t need the one through the website.)

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

7 responses »

  1. Good for you! I lead on online group through the Bible in 90 Days twice a year through MomsToolbox.com… that’s actually how the #B90Days hashtag was launched on Twitter.
    Kudos to you for jumping and reading. 🙂
    If you check my weekly check in posts, you might find some resources that might help you… feel free to use and enjoy the journey!

    Reply
  2. So glad you are doing this Elizabeth! I have the yearly bible- which gives you an old testament scripture, a new testament scripture, a psalm, and a proverb for each day of the year. I truly find that when I don’t get time to read- even if it is only one day- that I am missing out on something. Hope you continue with it- I have so many blessings in my life because of my faith- I really believe that!

    Reply
  3. I’m SO glad you’re doing this! I can tell an immediate difference when I don’t spend time with the Lord every day. My whole perspective on life changes! I get frustrated more easily and become much more pessimistic! My husband doesn’t get into the reading as much as I do, so I usually read Scripture out loud for about an hour every night while he plays his video game – win-win!

    My favorite books are Philippians and Galatians, but I love most of them! Psalms and Proverbs are great and Job has an amazing message, but I have to admit that books like Numbers are hard for me to get through!

    My favorite memorization verse is “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.” – Galatians 5:22-23

    Reply
  4. So excited for you! I need to get back into reading the Bible more often.

    Reply
  5. I have so many favorite verses lol..but the one that sticks out right now is Hebrews 11:1. It says: Now faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things unseen.
    I love love LOVE Hebrews. And Ephesians and Romans, Mostly, the whole New Testament! haha. Ooooh and James. Oh I love James. I’m so glad you’re doing this! I’ll keep you in my prayers!! And i look forward to reading your updates!

    Reply
  6. I want to tag along with you on this new adventure!! I have been horrible with the move and life in general that I have been neglecting my faith! So this is a great way to jump back in 🙂 Plus I just found an awesome church that I am going to start going to! you can email me at kaemommy3{at}yahoo{dot}com

    Reply
  7. How fun. Have never done the challenge, but look forward to hearing about it from you! My favorite book of the bible is Ruth and one of my favorite verses is

    “But who am I, and who are my people that we could give anything to you? Everything we have has come from you.” 1 Chronicles 29:14

    and also

    “Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matthew 6:34 — an awesome verse of scripture that show us to trust EVERTHING to the Lord.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

