RSS Feed

Just Trust The Recipe

Posted on

We all know I’m not Ina Garten, but I thought I wasn’t doing too bad. Ok, I mean, there was that one time I turned on the wrong burner and was confused 45 minutes later when my water wasn’t boiling… only to discover my favorite griddle pan was BURNED TOAST on the bottom. Other than that though, I do pretty well. Then Sunday and Monday I had two, YES, TWO, back to back recipe goofs!

Sunday night I thought I would try a recipe for red potatoes I saw and pinned on pinterest:

 

via: For The Love Of Cooking

A cute and different wat to make a great side dish. I usually just dice mine up and toss them with some oil. This will be so great. The problem? I only sort of kind of read the recipe (if you click on the picture, it should take you to it!) and thought the four regular sized red potatoes I had would make a great substitution for the baby potatoes. Boy was I wrong! After boiling those bad boys for 30 minutes, they were still not really tender. I tried to smash them anyway and got a crapshoot of a turn out.

The day was saved when I winged it (winged? wung?) and just tore into the potatoes with a fork and knife, cutting them into chunks and drizzled them with olive oil and sprinkled them with some onion, onion. I threw them in the oven for about ten minutes, stirred them up and threw them in for another ten. I sprinkled some shredded cheddar over them and let it melt in the oven (for about five minutes) before our side dish was ready to go. Next time, I’ll be sure to get small “baby” red potatoes!

Was this mistake enough for me to read and trust recipes? No, friends… it was not.

The very next day I attempted to make a sauce I saw on Giada at HomeBaked Potatoes with Sausage and Arugula Sauce. (Sorry there’s no pic, but if you click, it will take you to the recipe!) I was doing good- had my onions and garlic going good, sausage was browned and sauce was in the skillet. I added my Arugula and was very deceived. I had never cooked any kind of “greenery” (like arugula or spinach) and while I knew it cooked down, I was mistaken by just how much it cooked down.

I added more sauce because I didn’t want it too dry. That was the moment I just should have trusted the recipe. I saved it though, just like I saved the taters. I added my mascarpone and parmesan (which I shredded by hand from a block! You will never have anything so good in your life!) and the sauce was done. It was just a little runnier than I thought would be good on the baked potatoes, so I boiled up some rotinni and we called it a meal.

It was delicious! I highly suggest this recipe to everyone! It sounded kind of “too fancy” for me at first because I had never bought arugula or mascarpone in my entire life – I’m so glad I tried it though and will definitely make it again, perhaps even as runny as I made it last night!

So, spill the beans, friends: I know I can’t be the only one who has a lack of talent for reading recipes! What are some you messed up royally or saved gracefully?

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

One response »

  1. HAHA! My friends don’t like to follow directions. Granted, there weren’t really direction, just ingredient. BUT it was called a 7 layer dip. Most people (me being “most people”) would assume that you’d put the ingredients in the pan in the order that they appear. My two genius friends thought differently. So I’m changing in the bedroom and they say “Do you think this should have gone in a specific order” and I said “YES! Why?” and they just sort of giggled. I walk out and they’ve put the refried beans on the bottom and expected to be able to SPREAD the cream cheese on top. So instead, they just mixed it up. It was not longer a “layer” anything. It was mush! Geez louise. They still don’t let me live down the lashing I gave them! lol. They say “it still taaasted the same”. Bollucks.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

