RSS Feed

Work Out Jams

Posted on

Hubs and I got sweet little iPod shuffles to enhance our workout experience and get me past my “good enough” mile and a half. I found pretty sweet podcasts for the C25K where a guy tells you when to run vs walk. Sweet. The only disadvantage is there is nothing in the meantime. Would it be weird if I took and put it on hubs’ iPod, with my music on mine, and had his in one ear and mine in the other? The description says there is a way to overlap them… I’m not that tech-savvy! If you are and want to send me a cd with the C25K mix and some music behind it, that’d be super!

Hers and His: musical companions for workout buddies 😀

Oh, so you want to know what’s on my shuffle? Sure… as long as you let me know of some rocking music you jam out to when you walk, run, or workout as well 😀 Mind you, this list might be slightly embarrassing for me… but without further ado, my track companions:

  • Party Rock Anthem – LMFAO [man, what a great song to just get PUMPED to!]
  • Last Friday Night – Katy Perry
  • Home – Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros
  • Love Drunk – Boys Like Girls
  • That’s Not My Name – The Tings Tings
  • If You’re Wondering (If I Want You To) – Weezer
  • Tonight, Tonight – Hot Chelle Rae (oh, such a great tune!)
  • It’s Tricky – Run DMC
  • Glamorous – Fergie (Yep.)
  • Good Girls Go Bad – Cobra Starship feat. Leighton Meester
  • Supermodel (You Better Work) – RuPaul yelling at me to work as I workout.
  • I’m On A Boat – The Lonely Island (there is something about “angry”/yelling music that motivates me)
  • Booty City – Black Joe Lewis and the Honey Bears (he’s taking me to booty city, and my booty is gonna look good!)
  • Shake It – Metro Station
  • Stronger – Kanye West (I think this should be the official PT song for everybody. It truly will make me harder, faster and stronger!)
  • Dynamite – Taio Cruz
  • Blow – Ke$ha
  • Hustlin’ – Rick Ross (well, because everyday I’m out there hustlin’)
  • The Way You Move – Outkast
  • Magic – B.O.B. feat Rivers Cuomo (ummm, you know I seriously want to name a son Rivers, right? Hubs isn’t going for it. However, he can motivate me and give me some of his magic!)
  • Pon De Replay – Rihanna
  • Wild World – Me First and the Gimme Gimmes
  • Poker Face – Lady Gaga
  • The Girl Got Hot – Weezer (obviously Rivers is shocked by my fitness goals and how hot I’m gonna be!)
  • I’m Awesome – S’pose (I just repeat it around that next to last lap when I’m close to giving in. I keep going, because I’m awesome.)
  • Get Some – Lykke Li
  • S&M – Rihanna

For the most part I keep the BPM up around 130. I have some more over on jog.fm that I need to download, like “Evacuate the Dance Floor”. I have more already on the shuffle, but seriously, do you want the whole list? [Naturally, yes: “Eye of the Tiger” is on there.]

Your turn: what gets your heart pumping?

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

9 responses »

  1. There is a C25K podcast with music. I downloaded it a few years ago, and I’m not sure where…but it’s out there!

    Reply
  2. I love Dynamite! My must have song on a running playlist is “We are the Champions.” It’s always the last song on my playlist 🙂

    Reply
  3. LOVE IT! To bad you can’t download apps, but I’m sure you can find a podcast that has music and cues.
    btw loved your meal planner book in your last post.

    Reply
  4. I like Space Jam!! Haha. That’s my favorite movie ever and listening to Quad City’s Space Jam just gets me going!
    Bang Bang by K’naan and Adam Levine
    Dirty Little Secret by All American Rejects
    I Hate Everything About You by 3 Days Grace
    The Middle by Jimmy Eat World
    Supermassive Blackhole by Muse
    Get Low by Ying Yang Twins (this one is emabarrassing for me! lol. it’s good running music though!)
    Yeah! by Usher ft Lil Jon and Ludacris
    Bring Me To Life by Evanescence (this one doesn’t get really good until the chorus!)
    just to name a few! 🙂

    Reply
  5. We have a lot of the same songs, but I’ll give you a few more that get me through..
    Empire State of Mind- JayZ
    F*** You, Cee Lo Green…NOT the clean version 🙂
    Here I Go Again- Whitesnake… Did you see Mark Wahlberg in The Fighter? Love.
    Hypnotize- The Notorious BIG… takes me back to high school, in a good way
    Like a G6- Far East Movement
    Live Your Life- TI and Rihanna
    Rude Boy- Rihanna
    Run This Town- Rihanna and Kanye West… can you tell I like Rihanna?
    Sexy Bitch- Akon
    Single Ladies- Beyonce
    Super Bass- Nicki Minaj
    Viva la Vida- Coldplay
    We Hate Money- Spose… if you like I’m Awesome, this one is like it and it’s really funny

    I’ve been reading for a couple of months, not sure if I’ve ever commented, but you’re a funny girl 🙂

    Reply
  6. the song i listen to that gets me into work out mode is pump it- black eyed peas! i love reading your blog you are so inspiring. my husband has recently asked me to *retire* from working for now, since he likes having me home on a regular basis. it isn’t so bad for now, but i always feel like i am running out of places to clean…lol.

    Reply
  7. LMFAO has a LOT of really great songs from an older album but some of them are bit on the raunchy side so you’d have to check them out to see if you like them. My stuff is pretty strange, but I like 5 Finger Death Punch a lot.

    Reply
  8. I think I’m going to have to steal some songs! I don’t know how to overlap them, sorry! : ( I used the c25k on the iphone so it switched automatically between the c25k and pandora!

    By the way, I’m giving away a piece of jewelry of your choice from Towne&Reese! Go to http://www.l0velindsey.com to enter.

    Reply
  9. I need to get back into working out, Buzz and I both!! That podcast sounds divine except the lack of music!!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

