RSS Feed

Meal Planning… How [P]Interesting!

Posted on

Pinned onto my "Print Me Up" board via Becki's pin. First pinned by Monica Bradford

Meal plans are not something hubs and I normally do. We wake up, I ask what he wants for dinner that night while we make coffee. If I need to I take the meat out of the freezer. Well, I’ve decided it’s time to be a more responsible housewife and I have made a meal plan for our week, created entirely out of recipe from my “If Yan Can Cook…” board! [Do you remember that show, with the tiny little Japanese chef? My grandpa and I always watched him!] What’s better is I’m using that meal planner up there that I found on pinterest too!

Sunday we started with Hash Brown Egg White Nests! My husband called them “breakfast cupcakes”. Two of these bad boys with a cup of grapes was only 240 calories. They were filling and delicious! Definitely an easy enough brunch and can be changed to everyone’s taste buds! We went two for two on Sunday and I made Crock Pot Italian Chicken for dinner. It was saltier than we’re used to, but it was a keeper recipe! 

Yesterday I goofed and didn’t start soon enough, so we had a pot roast instead. The one meal this week we won’t be getting from Pinterest! Right now I am cooking a Mexican Casserole in the crock pot. Let’s face it, it’s so much nicer to not heat up the whole house during the summer! Here is where the crock pot goodness ends though. For the rest of the week I have: Cheesy Chili Hash Brown Bake that I’ll be cooking in cute little individual serving dishes, Tatertot Casserole, which will also be prepared in the individual dishes, and Mini Muffin Pizza Bites! Naturally, we have salad every night (which hubs picks up from the cafeteria on his way out of work, so we know none goes to waste!) and since it’s a lot of red meat, we’re doing some with ground turkey instead of ground beef.

 Have you jumped on the Pinterest bandwagon? Have you made any recipes you’ve found there? So far, I have not been let down! I’ll be sure to recap on how they each were at the bottom of my pins, and over on twitter!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

2 responses »

  1. I love this template! I currently just write my dinner plans on a blank calendar. How was your move to WordPress?

    Reply
  2. Hi Elizabeth! Thank you for stopping by my new blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you taking the time to read my first blurb in the blogging world. 🙂

    I absolutely -love- Pinterest! I can spend hours browsing the recipes, crafty ideas, and photographs of distant lands. I must admit I have yet to try making one of the many recipes I’ve saved to my “need to cook” board, but I think I will have to try one tomorrow after reading of your successes!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

