RSS Feed

Why, Oh Why, Wyoming

Posted on

You thought this was a square with a heart? No, it's Wyoming.

Retirement. It is something I think of almost obsessively. Yes: I am 26. Yes, my husband has another [hopeful] 20 years in the United States Navy. It is the United States Navy that has given me this complex of nomad-ness. We don’t really have a “home” anymore. We love it here in Fallbrook, but let’s be honest- California is just too expensive to buy a house and come back “home” to when our time moving is over and done with.

Hubs is from South Carolina, and let’s be honest: After “suffering” through the Southern California heat- there is no way we are ever moving back to the south on our own recognizance. I grew up half of my life in Connecticut and the other half in Virginia. Virginia: hello humidity! Connecticut: Hello worst memories of my life! The only plus to New England would be a summer home on the Cape!

I often think about not having children, and by the time retirement hits we can pack our belongings in storage, buy an RV, and travel across the United States looking for the perfect home to call our own! There are only 48 Continental states and 52 weeks in the year, so we would have time for the military to still move us there!

We once thought Yuma, AZ would be nice. I think the heat got to our heads. We also thought Texas would be good- you just can’t beat the BBQ we had at one place as we were driving through last summer. Now, your old pal Hubs has chosen WYOMING as his next dream retirement destination. I can see a spring vacation there in our future!

These are the things we sit and discuss, dreaming about our future, on Friday nights. Let’s just see how many times this changes over the course of the next 20-25 years!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

4 responses »

  1. FYI – Wyoming is lame. Take it from me. Been there plenty of times.

    Reply
  2. You DO NOT want to live in Wyoming guys!!!! Trust me- when we lived in Greeley, Colorado- it was too close- drove through Wyoming on numerous occasions to get to and from Washington- it is just awful- I think you would be dreadfully bored there!!!

    Reply
  3. Unless you’re working at Yellowstone, I’d rule Wyoming out also. I loved my 3-day visit there though. However, it got down to freezing during the night–it was August! What about upstate New York? Or Denver? Maybe you should start perusing some ‘best places to retire’ lists, although I’m sure it will change in 20 years.

    Reply
  4. I have a group of friends, we all met in Maine when we were all stationed there. We live in FL, as does another couple, one lives in KS and one in CA. We have all decided on a visit together this past week that we all want to retire in the same place. For some reason we just came up with Tennessee! No harsh winters was my demand, good schools, and one of the guys wanted good hunting since he is a park ranger. So we even picked the town in TN that we would love and planned a visit there this fall! The best part is going to all these places to see if you love them. Have fun with it!!

    Reply

Add your two cents:

