RSS Feed

Let’s All Go To The Movies… At Home

Posted on

Around Father’s Day the morning show I listen to on the radio talked about things dads say. Things like: “you want me to give you a reason to cry?” Things like the Dane Cook skit about how the amusement park isn’t going anywhere so we’ll go another day. People would call in with ridiculous things their dads say. One caller said her dad refused to join Netflix he knew it was a scam. He was talking more in the aspect of those old send in a penny and get 7 cassettes or whatever, but…

I’m sure by now, you’re all in the know about the greatest movie rip off of our time: Netflix doubling prices. It’s not the first time prices have increased, but it is the first time since I’ve been a customer that they have changed so drastically. During deployment I watched more than our money’s worth of movies. I watched two or three movies a day, since we didn’t have cable.

From We Heart It

Now that we have cable, and my life has returned to normal with hubs home from deployment, we’ve done nothing but have discs sit on our entertainment center. We can go a week or two before we watch a movie. Plain and simple: in these economic times Netflix is going to be a thing of our past [our as in mine and my hubs’]. When we want to watch a movie, we can stop by Red box on our way home and drop them back off on our way to work the next day. We will maybe watch three dollars worth of movies a month.

Do you think Netflix has done customers wrong? I think I would stick to streaming if new films would be readily and quickly available. We’re giving it a month to see. All I know is: there just isn’t enough instantly available right now for us to keep it. We almost never stream!

The downside: we have an internet connected TV which makes it super convenient to watch instantly on the TV. If we discontinue the streaming, we won’t use the internet connectivity at all 😦

Do you Netflix? Are you planning on changing your plan with the increase in prices?

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

4 responses »

  1. I understand the frustration for some people, but I think people are taking it way over the edge. I don’t think it’s a big deal. We watch way more than $16 worth of movies a month. The instant is great for kids shows, and weird obscure movies.

    Reply
  2. I agree with Sarah. Our price is going up $4 – 16 a month to 20 – and it’s still worth it to us. We watch anywhere from 2-4 movies a week when Chris is home, I’ve gone through as many as 6 a week when Chris is gone, and we stream like crazy. They have a lot of our favorite tv shows on for instant streaming and we tend to prefer older movies over new ones, so it works out well for us.

    Reply
  3. We Netflix – we love watching TV shows we never saw in the past due to being busy or whatever. We’ll probably think about changing one of these days. Eh, whatever.

    Okay, on to my question, how are you liking wordpress?

    Reply
  4. I netflix, I don’t use is as much as I used to so I haven’t decided what I’m doing. I’m waiting to hear if I got this Army fellowship which might have me moving every 6 months so I might switch to streaming only since I’m not sure I’ll have mail access. But I also don’t go to the movies that often so I like being able to check out “new” movies that I didnt see in the theatre. We don’t have redbox near me so thats a problem.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

