RSS Feed

Good Wholesome Americana | The Lakeside Rodeo

Posted on

“It’s boots and chaps | It’s cowboy hats | It’s spurs and latigo
It’s the ropes and the reins | And the joy and the pain
And they call the thing rodeo”

Last night hubs and I ventured down to Lakeside, CA for the thirteenth Bulls Only Rodeo! It was a first for both of us, and boy was it fun! We submersed ourselves into the culture by listening to country music all day. I put my cowboy boots on, grabbed my hat and away we went!

They've Gone Country!

When we got there I have to admit I was slightly shocked the arena was an open air, outdoor arena. Coming from the city I was envisioning something like Scope, in Norfolk, VA, or a coliseum type of setting that was transformed into a rodeo for the event. This place was legit! There were 6 Bull pins and we found seats right across from them. We’re not sure if those are the good seats or not, but we liked them just fine.

Little Miss Rodeo 2011 practices riding, passing by the Bull PinsBonafide Cowboys

We watched the entertainment of some rodeo clowns, and I even caught a t-shirt one of them flung into the crowd! Then it was time for the Rodeo to begin. We lucked out and it was Military Appreciation Night. All the Rodeo Queens from local rodeos acted as color guard, and as the American flag was rode around the arena, the audience stood as “Proud To Be An American” was played. There was cheering and excitement.

It was the first time since deployment ended that I’ve been exposed to such patriotism and I couldn’t hold back the tears. Everyone sat, except those active duty military members and veterans were asked to remain standing so they could be thanked. I got chills as people cheered.

Our beautiful flag flying high and mighty at the end of the Arena

 

When the National Anthem was sung, more tears fell. It was after the announcer prayed for the men and women who have paid the ultimate sacrifice for our country, and then he prayed for the safety of the bull riders.

Bull Riding is one of, if not the most, dangerous sport today. We saw some pretty amazing moves and a few fellows had to jump in the stands to escape the brunt of the bulls.  No photography was allowed during the event, and when the announcement was made, I asked hubs why. I didn’t understand the risk associated with the sport. I guess the city slicker in me thought the bulls were kind of trained to buck and do what they do.

It was one of the most amazing events I’ve ever been to. It was good, wholesome fun. It was everything America should be with a few dumb rednecks thrown in the mix. There was cowboys and cowgirls. There was American pride and Bud light. There were little kids in cowboy boots more expensive than mine, and bona fide Stetson hats. It was a whole different culture. It was something everyone should experience.

Bona fide cowboys watching the rodeo as dusk approaches

 It was the perfect beginning to the first birthday weekend hubs and I have been able to share since we met! He’s turning the big ol’ 34 on Monday, and we’re making the most of it! Next up: we went to a Microbrew Festival today to benefit Habitat for Humanity! Keep your eyes open for the story on all the fun!

As an aside: please bear with me as I try to figure out images over here on WordPress! They pop up either monster large or teeny tiny and editing them has proven to be a headache! I haven’t quite figured out how to size them just right!

About Elizabeth

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

One response »

  1. I’m ridiculous when it come to being patriotic. I started crying just reading the words “Proud to be an American” I’m such a wimp lol.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

