RSS Feed

McScroogey

Yes, Folks… I have been slightly McScroogey lately. I am working on it.

My first confession is I can’t stand the concept of the Elf on the Shelf. It creeps me out first and foremost because the little elf is just creepy. Second, I don’t like the fact that we are becoming the type of world where parents need an elf to keep their kids in line. I don’t have kids, so I won’t go any further on this topic other than simply, le gross.

You all know about the parade here in town and how I was in a sad mood last weekend over it.

We got our Christmas cards in yesterday and that was a cheerful moment, but let me tell you: we are only half decorated and our tree still has one ornament on it. I am just not feeling the holidays for the third year in a row. Perhaps next year the military will let Christmas be ours to share in without deployment looming over our heads… and for sure Hubs had better be home and not delayed!

Dr. J reminded me this week that I chose this life- I signed up for it and for the most part I love our life. We get to move and see exciting things and experience things we never would have… and I am beginning to think Christmas I grew up with just is not going to be the Christmas we have, for a long time!

I had a great brunch with some of the Hospital spouses yesterday (Friday) and I think I made a new friend :) That should help some! I am also working on a very neat care package for a special blogger out there (who lives somewhere sans Trader Joe’s… and sans their Cookie Butter!!! For shame!) which is definitely helping me feel festive.

How do you get out of funks when it comes time for holidays and your loved one being gone? Everyday we are getting new (CRAZY) information about this deployment and it seems that is all I can focus on… when I just want to focus on having Hubs home for the holidays. I look at that darn empty tree though and can’t help but think “Ya know what? It doesn’t look half bad that way, let’s leave it!”

Decorating just seems like such a waste to me this year… once again.

It’s safe to say I am at the bitter/anger stage of the emotional deployment cycle. TLC needs to have that as a show instead of the ridiculous homecoming shows. Eh, I won’t go on that tangent right now. End le rant.

I also have been away from blogger but am still over on the twitter and facebook (as well as that foresaken instagram!) so follow me over there! I am so far behind on connecting with you all, it’s just that we have been busy, busy, busy!

About Elizabeth @ The Young Retiree

Paleo wife on 150lb weightloss journey documenting life, marriage, health & military move to Okinawa! Tough Mudder (Nov '12) and Stella & Dot Stylist!

7 responses »

  1. Well we don’t have a deployment coming up Thankfully because my hubs is having surgery instead. He was supposed to deploy but because of his hip surgery this week he is not. But I do know how you feel. Neither hubs or I are really in the Christmas spirit. We have no money and no gifts…well one for Little Miss but that’s it. We haven’t even been able to get a Christmas tree yet! And his surgery is this wednesday. Having no money and having him have this very rough surgery has kind of ruined our Christmas…I mentioned putting lights outside the house and my husband said ‘What’s the point?’ which is so unlike him. Usually we are like the Griswolds haha But not this year….ugh

    Reply
    • hewearscombatboots-
      Have you seen the forum on http://www.modgblog.com? People are networking to help eachother this holiday season, if you post a need (even for something as smass as a christmas tree) I bet someone would help you! Just wanted to put that out there as an option to you. Best of luck to you!

      Reply
  2. You are definitely not alone. I am not feeling the Christmas spirit either. We don’t have a deployment looming (yet) but we do have our move from Korea to Georgia hanging over our heads. The movers come tomorrow to get our stuff so needless to say we didn’t bother putting up any decorations as they would just be taken down tomorrow and packed away. And we still don’t know if we will be in America on Christmas morning or in a hotel room in Korea. That adds to our feelings of scroogey-ness. This Christmas is a tough one for lots of mil spouses that I know. Lame! Anyway, I hope you start to feel up soon and can enjoy the holiday at least a little. Merry Christmas, from one Scrooge to another. :)

    Reply
  3. Oh my gah. I am having TJ’s withdraws severely being here in FL now. I have never even heard of their cookie butter. Is it seasonal?

    Reply
  4. We have spent more the one Christmas apart..some we opened gifts over skype..some we didn’t even have that…so now when he is home..no matter what is looming we celebrate it fully…There are too many of our friends that have an empty seat at their table this year…and it will forever be empty. To read my friends blog about preparing to deliver her “fatherless” baby…how can that not change my perspective? I know you can’t just wave a wand and poof everything you are feeling goes away. Deployment sucks, they suck because our husbands are not there…but when they are here, be present, in every second because really that is all we have ..no one is guaranteed anything.

    Reply
  5. First off: You could have fooled me!! It seems you and hubs have had a lot of Christmas cheer!! Second: Your feelings are totally valid! After you move away from home I feel that Christmas is not the same, sadly, BUT you and hubs are building new traditions with your little family and don’t let that dumb deployment get in the way of it! I will never forget our first Christmas away from home, hubs had duty on Christmas Day and I woke up alone in our apartment and just cried. I went to the ship and had Christmas lunch with him and we watched Elf with the rest of the wardroom and I brought tons of x-mas cookies. It wasn’t ideal, but we were together. I’m confident you will get out of your ‘scrooge’ phase and go on to enjoy the rest of the holidays! Go down to Del Mar and drive through the lights at the fairgrounds with a cup of hot chocolate and holding hands in the car! Have you been to the zoo in the evening with their Christmas lights, FUN!!! What about volunteering together for a cause you both are passionate about, maybe the USO or Blue Star Families have something going on you could help out with? Or a homeless shelter or the foodbank? That could get you back in the holiday spirit! I’m rambling, but sending you my hugs and love!!!

    Reply
  6. We’re in a similar-but-not situation. Sky is going to be going to school soon, and it will be anywhere from 2 months to 7 months from what we understand. It’s just now starting to sink in that he will be leaving soon, and I’m beginning to freak out a little bit. However, I’m trying to make the most of the holiday since we still have this time together now. You’ll have plenty of time to think deployment thoughts- try to make this time just for you guys.

    Also, everyone talks about Trader Joe’s…I don’t even know what it is, lol.

    Reply

Add your two cents:

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

